Styling Sneakers for Work

When I was younger I wore heels to work, like every day. Now, that doesn’t work for me so much and I find myself reaching for sneakers more and more. This is especially true over the winter. There are so many versions of sneakers out there that fulfill the comfort and style requirement for a job where you are on your feet all day.

I have 2 tried and true brands when I need cool looking sneakers, Steve Madden and Time & Tru from Walmart. Lots of the ones I buy have the stars on the side but both brands have some simple white ones too. Steve Madden is the more expensive of the two but you can find deals on them at TJ Maxx or Marshalls, I also grab them when DSW has a sale or my reward points have built up. Side note- if you are not a member of DSW’s rewards program, you need to be. It is so easy to earn points, they have 2x and 3x the points days, a huge selection of shoes, and often run promos for discounts. It doesn’t cost a thing to join and it truly worth it. OK, DSW hype over. The less expensive of the two are from Walmart with the Time & Tru brand. They have some really good quality items, especially the shoes. The styles keep up with the latest trends for a fraction of the cost. Here is a link to some sneakers from both places: https://shopstyle.it/v/VmH

I have listed white sneakers as an essential item to have in your closet before. They really will not go to waste and are worth any price you pay for them. When you find a pair you like, they will go with anything. When I styled mine for this post I used the same pair with every outfit. In the past I haven’t really tried sneakers with dresses and skirts but it works! I have found some of my favorite outfits by doing this. My normal is usually sneakers with a sweater and jeans (this is honestly my outfit 90% of my work days). You can really make them work, even if your work place requires a little more of a dressed up look. Black jeans and a sweater or nice blouse will be the way to go. Below are some of the ways I have actually worn sneakers to work in the past.

Leave a comment